BPM 2021

Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources Track: Preface

This volume contains the papers presented at the Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources tracks of the 19th International Conference on Business Process Management (BPM 2021), organized by the Sapienza Università di Roma, Rome, Italy.

The Best BPM Dissertation Award demonstrates the excellence and innovative power of young BPM researchers. Eligible as candidates have been all dissertations that have been officially completed after January 1, 2020. The winner receives the award at the BPM Conference 2021 in Rome, Italy. The award is connected with a prize of EUR 1,000 and a free registration for the conference. The winner is also offered the option to publish the dissertation thesis in Springer's LNBIP series.

The Doctoral Consortium pursues the objectives to provide valuable feedback and guidance to PhD students from experienced researchers as well as to promote the development of a community of scholars including both peers and mentors for future careers. Each of the received submissions have been evaluated by several senior researchers. As a result of the selection process, eleven of the students' research proposals were accepted. The topics covered by these proposals include a causal approach to prescriptive process monitoring, integrating explainable machine learning and predictive process monitoring, and interactive resolution and prevention of inconsistencies in business rule management. The PhD students and senior researchers discuss the respective PhD project, its methodology, and its technical aspects. The challenges of doing a PhD project in BPM are tackled and experiences are shared.

The Demonstration & Resources track is intended to showcase innovative BPM tools, services and applications, as well as datasets, taxonomies, labelled event logs and annotated corpora alike that may originate from academic initiatives or industry endeavours. As usual for the track, the focus on the data-driven analysis of processes is accompanied by emerging new fields of investigation, such as logging blockchain data for process mining, analyzing human habits through process discovery and innovative means for resource allocation in business processes. The works show the support of the BPM community to actionable solutions for industry and academic peers alike, as in the tradition of the track.

The organizers of the Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources Track would like to express their gratitude to all individuals, institutions, and sponsors that supported BPM 2021. A special word goes to all members of the committees who contributed to make the tracks a success. II BPM 2021 Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources Track

September 2021, Rome

Wil van der Aalst Remco Dijkman Akhil Kumar Francesco Leotta Fabrizio Maria Maggi Jan Mendling Brian Pentland Arik Senderovich Marcos Sepúlveda Estefanía Serral Asensio Mathias Weske

Organisation

Dissertation Award

Review Jury

Wil van der Aalst	RWTH Aachen, Germany
Akhil Kumar	Pennsylvania State University, United States
Jan Mendling (Chair)	WU Vienna, Austria
Brian Pentland	Michigan State University, United States
Mathias Weske	HPI University of Potsdam, Germany

Review Committee

Boulem Bentallah
Nicholas Berente
Jörg Desel
Boudewijn van Dongen
Henrik Leopold
Marco Montali
Jan Recker
Manfred Reichert
Hajo Reijers
Stefanie Rinderle-Ma
Maximilian Röglinger
Michael Rosemann
Shazia Sadiq
Ingo Weber

University of New South Wales, Australia University of Notre Dame, United States FernUni Hagen, Germany TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands Kühne Logistics University, Germany Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy University of Hamburg, Germany University of Ulm, Germany Utrecht University, The Netherlands Technical University of Munich, Germany University of Bayreuth, Germany QUT Brisbane, Australia University of Queensland, Australia Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

Doctoral Consortium

Chairs

Estefanía Serral Asensio	KU Leuven, Belgium
Remco Dijkman	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Nether-
	lands
Fabrizio Maria Maggi	University of Bolzano, Italy

Program Committee

Amy Van Loy	Ghent University, Belgium
Andrea Burattin	Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Barbara Weber	University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
Chiara Di Francescomarino	Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Félix García	Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Irene Vanderfeesten	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Jan vom Brocke	University of Liechtenstein, Liechtenstein
Mathias Weske	HPI University of Potsdam, Germany
Mieke Jans	Universiteit Hasselt, Belgium
Moe Wynn	Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Monique Snoeck	KU Leuven, Belgium
Stefan Schönig	Universät of Regensburg, Germany

Demonstration & Resources Track

Program Committee Chairs

Francesco Leotta	Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Arik Senderovich	University of Toronto, Canada
Marcos Sepúlveda	Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Program Committee

Saimir Bala	Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
Andrea Burattin	Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Massimiliano de Leoni	University of Padua, Italy
Johannes De Smedt	The University of Edinburgh, Scotland
Benoît Depaire	Hasselt University, Belgium
Chiara Di Francescomarino	Fondazione Bruno Kessler-IRST, Italy
Rik Eshuis	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Nether- lands
Michael Fellmann	University of Rostock, Germany
Laura Genga	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Nether-
	lands
Dimka Karastoyanova	University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Agnes Koschmider	Kiel University, Germany
Sander Leemans	Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Andrea Marrella	Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Christoph Mayr-Dorn	Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Giovanni Meroni	Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Helen Paik	University of New South Wales, Australia
Artem Polyvyanyy	The University of Melbourne, Australia
Rüdiger Pryss	Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, Ger- many
Jana-Rebecca Rehse	University of Mannheim, Germany
Kate Revoredo	Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
António Rito Silva	Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Mattia Salnitri	Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Stefan Schönig	Universität Regensburg, Germany
Francesco Tiezzi	University of Camerino, Italy
Han van der Aa	University of Mannheim, Germany
Seppe Vanden Broucke	Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Francesca Zerbato	University of St. Gallen, Switzerland